The City’s claim in the Preliminary 2017 City Capital and Operating Budget released on Tuesday December 6th that service will be maintained is not true. The TTC is facing real service cuts.

The failure of Mayor Tory and City Council to fairly fund the TTC has resulted in a decline in service quality on at least 58 TTC routes and the sixth fare hike in six years. This budget means that riders will be paying more for less service in 2017.

The TTC reduced service on 15 routes in November meaning riders on these routes will be waiting longer for their bus or streetcar. The TTC is also quietly violating overcrowding standards on a quarter of all TTC routes as revealed by the Toronto Star on Friday November 18. Instead of increasing service on these routes to match ridership as the agency is required to do so, the TTC choose to keep this information quiet.  In fact, the TTC Commission voted to reject $1.5M in scheduled service improvements in September on the grounds that ridership levels didn’t justify the increase to meet City Council’s request to cut the TTC’s budget.

Find out what is happening to your route.

The TTC’s budgetary woes are caused by Mayor Tory’s and City Council’s refusal to fairly fund the TTC.  In July, City Council voted for the TTC to cut its budget by 2.6% and absorb all increases in costs.

Riders have had to deal with six fare hikes since 2010.  Fares have been rising much faster than inflation.  The TTC has the most expensive monthly pass in Canada.  The City’s property tax rate has been rising below inflation.”

TTCriders is also calling on City Council to raise revenue for the TTC using other revenue tools, such as bringing back the vehicle registration tax, raising property taxes, or bringing in a parking tax.  The absolute worst way to pay for the TTC is through fare hikes because it hurts low income Torontonians and it discourages transit use.  Read more about what revenue tools the City is considering, and what we think. 

Despite the cuts and fare hikes, the TTC is still facing a $61M to $90M shortfall. If City Council forces the TTC to cut even further the agency will be forced to make some drastic moves. Some of the options being considered include:

  • imposing another fare hike,
  • the elimination of some fare discounts for seniors and students,
  • the elimination of free TTC for kids under 12,
  • reductions to peak and off-peak service,
  • and an end to the 10-minutes or better service on certain bus routes.

Here is the list of drastic options the TTC is considering to address the $61M to $91M shortfall and balance its budget.

TTCriders believes the TTC should be funded at the North American rate of $2.60 a ride, increase service, and immediately introduce rider friendly fares including the two hour fare transfer and a fair discount for low income riders.

The TTC gets the least amount of government support per ride compared to all major transit systems, making it the most underfunded system in North America.  In 2010, the TTC received a city subsidy of 93 cents per ride.  Currently, the TTC gets a city subsidy of just 92 cents per ride.

The City budget process has now officially started.  It will be finalized in February.

WHAT DO I DO?

  • Read City staff’s presentation on the budget.
  • Watch the City Staff’s presentation on YouTube.
  • Did your councillor vote to cut the TTC’s budget?  Find out, and send a message to your councillor to do the right thing for riders in 2017. Scroll down to see what is happening to your TTC route, and also get the contact details of your councillor.  Personal messages are the best. 
  • Attend a City Budget briefing and share your opinion.  

January 5, 2017
Scarborough Civic Centre
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

January 5, 2017
Etobicoke Civic Centre
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

January 9, 2017
East York Civic Centre
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

January 9, 2017
North York Civic Centre
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

January 10, 2017
City Hall
9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

January 10, 2017
York Civic Centre
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

WHAT IS HAPPENING TO YOUR ROUTE?

The following TTC routes have experienced a drop in service quality.  As a result of funding cuts, you will be waiting longer for your bus or street car and you will experience more overcrowding on these routes.  If you want the full analysis then please read Shaun Cleaver’s excellent blog post on the cuts.  Shaun’s blog post will be updated frequently.   

11 Bayview

22 Coxwell

23 Dawes

24 Victoria Park

29 Dufferin

32 Eglinton West

35 Jane

36 Finch West

41 Keele

42 Cummer

43 Kennedy

45 Kipling

52 Lawrence West

53 Steeles East

56 Leaside

57 Midland

60 Steeles West

63 Ossington

68 Warden

7 Bathurst

73 Royal York

75 Sherbourne

79 Scarlett Rd

84 Sheppard West

85 Sheppard

89 Weston

90 Vaughan

95 York Mills

102 Markham Rd

108 Downsview

111 East Mall

116 Morningside

121 Fort York-Esplanade

122 Graydon Hall

123 Shorncliffe

124 Sunnybrook

125 Drewry

129 McCowan North

131 Nugget

133 Neilson

133 Neilson

161 Rogers Rd

168 Symington

191 Hwy 27 Rocket

192 Airport Rocket

195 Jane Rocket

198 UTSC Rocket

199 Finch Rocket

501 Queen

504 King

505 Dundas

506 Carlton

509 Harbourfront

510 Spadina

511 Bathurst

512 St. Clair

514 Cherry

YOUR COUNCILLOR’S CONTACTS

Toronto Mayor John Tory mayor_tory@toronto.ca 416-338-7125
Etobicoke North Councillor Vincent Crisanti councillor_crisanti@toronto.ca 416-696-4207
Etobicoke North Councillor Michael Ford councillor_mford@toronto.ca 416-397-9238
Etobicoke Centre Councillor Stephen Holyday councillor_holyday@toronto.ca 416-392-4004
Etobicoke Centre Councillor John Campbell Councillor_Campbell@toronto.ca 416-696-4138
Etobicoke-Lakeshore Councillor Justin Di Ciano Councillor_DiCiano@toronto.ca 416-392-4127
Etobicoke-Lakeshore Councillor Mark Grimes councillor_grimes@toronto.ca 416-397-9279
York West Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti councillor_mammoliti@toronto.ca 416-397-9282
York West Councillor Anthony Perruzza councillor_perruzza@toronto.ca 416-696-4144
York Centre Councillor Maria Augimeri councillor_augimeri@toronto.ca 416-392-7109
York Centre Councillor James Pasternak councillor_pasternak@toronto.ca 416-392-7299
York South-Weston Councillor Frances Nunziata councillor_nunziata@toronto.ca 416-392-4118
York South-Weston Councillor Frank Di Giorgio councillor_digiorgio@toronto.ca 416-392-1675
Parkdale-High Park Councillor Sarah Doucette councillor_doucette@toronto.ca 416-696-3667
Parkdale-High Park Councillor Gord Perks councillor_perks@toronto.ca 416-392-0398
Eglinton-Lawrence Councillor Josh Colle councillor_colle@toronto.ca 416-392-4191
Eglinton-Lawrence Councillor Christin Carmichael Greb Councillor_CarmichaelGreb@toronto.ca 416-392-4129
Davenport Councillor Cesar Palacio councillor_palacio@toronto.ca 416-392-0212
Davenport Councillor Ana Bailão councillor_bailao@toronto.ca 416-392-7957
Trinity-Spadina Councillor Mike Layton councillor_layton@toronto.ca 416-392-4100
Trinity-Spadina Councillor Joe Cressy Councillor_Cressy@toronto.ca 416-392-4130
St. Paul’s Councillor Joe Mihevc councillor_mihevc@toronto.ca 416-392-7466
St. Paul’s Councillor Josh Matlow councillor_matlow@toronto.ca 416-392-0124
Willowdale Councillor John Filion councillor_filion@toronto.ca 416-392-7388
Willowdale Councillor David Shiner councillor_shiner@toronto.ca 416-397-9290
Don Valley West Councillor Jaye Robinson councillor_robinson@toronto.ca 416-395-6439
Don Valley West Councillor Jon Burnside Councillor_Burnside@toronto.ca 416-392-7427
Toronto Centre-Rosedale Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam councillor_wongtam@toronto.ca 416-696-4300
Toronto Centre-Rosedale Councillor Pam McConnell councillor_mcconnell@toronto.ca 416-392-7296
Toronto-Danforth Councillor Mary Fragedakis councillor_fragedakis@toronto.ca 416-392-4123
Toronto-Danforth Councillor Paula Fletcher councillor_fletcher@toronto.ca 416-397-5200
Beaches-East York Councillor Janet Davis councillor_davis@toronto.ca 416-397-9289
Beaches-East York Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon councillor_mcmahon@toronto.ca 416-392-7444
Don Valley East Councillor Shelley Carroll councillor_carroll@toronto.ca 416-392-4101
Don Valley East Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong councillor_minnan-wong@toronto.ca 416-397-4100
Scarborough Southwest Councillor Michelle Holland councillor_berardinetti@toronto.ca 416-392-7394
Scarborough Southwest Councillor Gary Crawford councillor_crawford@toronto.ca 416-696-3658
Scarborough Centre Councillor Michael Thompson councillor_thompson@toronto.ca 416-397-9280
Scarborough Centre Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker councillor_debaeremaeker@toronto.ca 416-392-7428
Scarborough-Agincourt Councillor Jim Karygiannis councillor_karygiannis@toronto.ca 416-392-7431
Scarborough-Agincourt Councillor Norman Kelly councillor_kelly@toronto.ca 416-696-4172
Scarborough-Rouge River Councillor Chin Lee councillor_lee@toronto.ca 416-392-7433
Scarborough-Rouge River Councillor Vacant Vacant ward42@toronto.ca 416-696-4159
Scarborough East Councillor Paul Ainslie councillor_ainslie@toronto.ca 416-392-4006
Scarborough East Councillor Ron Moeser councillor_moeser@toronto.ca 416-392-7429
Share →