We had a campaign victory last night. City Council responded to our campaign and approved a discount pass for low income riders.


Thank you to all of you that worked so hard for this important step forward, including all members of the Fair Fare Coalition, the Toronto Chinese Seniors Association, CARP-TO, the Bob Rumball Centre, TDIN, Commitment 2 Community, Toronto Workers Airport Council, Access Alliance and many many more.  Thank you also to the staff at the City of Toronto who worked on the report, including Ricardo Tranjan and Denise Andrea Campbell, and councillors Joe Mihevc and Pam McConnell for championing fair equity at City Council. It wouldn’t have happened without all of our hard work. 

What did we get?

The new $50M fair pass program will give riders on social assistance and riders earning less than $22,000 a year (and you can earn more if you have dependents) will receive a fare discount of 33% on cash fares, and a 20% discount on the monthly metropass. At 2017 fare prices, eligible riders would pay $2.10 a ride, down from $3.25, and $117 a month, instead of $146.50.  

The program will be rolled out over five years with riders on social assistance getting the discount in 2018, and low income riders getting the discount in stages in 2019 and 2020.  Up to 200,000 riders are expected to use the program.  Joe Mihevc’s motion was also approved to ask Metrolinx to speed up its work to make Presto accessible for the low income pass program so it could be rolled out more quickly.

Is it enough?

No. These discounts do not do enough to allow everyone to truly afford to travel around the city and fully lead their lives?  The discounts will mean many Torontonians will still be forced to make the tough choice of buying food for dinner or buying a token. And no one should be waiting up to five years to get transit relief.

But despite its shortcomings we support this fair pass because:

  • This vote will mean up to 200,000 low income riders will have more money in their pockets and will be more able to travel on the TTC.
  • This vote means that we have opened a door into a new political reality where the low-income pass is no longer an abstract concept but a practical policy that we can build upon and fight to improve.  It’s become real.
  • This vote also tell us that our coalition building, grassroots organizing, presentations, conversations and media work is working. It’s important we celebrate our victories.  It doesn’t stop us from advocating for better.

Take action

If you also believe we need deeper discounts and a quicker rollout then we encourage you to join us at our next meeting where we will celebrate, debrief our work so far, and begin to plan our next steps for a truly affordable fair pass.  Wed. Jan. 18, 4.30pm – 6pm, 720 Bathurst St.

Post your personal thoughts on our facebook page.  

Send a personal thank you to your councillor for voting for the fair fare pass (provided they did) and starting the long path towards an affordable TTC.  It’s the first step, not the last one.  Your councillors’ contact details are below.  Extra thanks goes to Joe Mihevc and Pam McConnell for their hard work passing the pass.

Thank you,

Daniella, Jess, Karin, Susan, Merrill, Margot, Herman, Cindy, Joel, Tina, and many, many more.


Toronto Mayor John Tory mayor_tory@toronto.ca 416-338-7125
Etobicoke North Councillor Vincent Crisanti councillor_crisanti@toronto.ca 416-696-4207
Etobicoke North Councillor Michael Ford councillor_mford@toronto.ca 416-397-9238
Etobicoke Centre Councillor Stephen Holyday councillor_holyday@toronto.ca 416-392-4004
Etobicoke Centre Councillor John Campbell Councillor_Campbell@toronto.ca 416-696-4138
Etobicoke-Lakeshore Councillor Justin Di Ciano Councillor_DiCiano@toronto.ca 416-392-4127
Etobicoke-Lakeshore Councillor Mark Grimes councillor_grimes@toronto.ca 416-397-9279
York West Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti councillor_mammoliti@toronto.ca 416-397-9282
York West Councillor Anthony Perruzza councillor_perruzza@toronto.ca 416-696-4144
York Centre Councillor Maria Augimeri councillor_augimeri@toronto.ca 416-392-7109
York Centre Councillor James Pasternak councillor_pasternak@toronto.ca 416-392-7299
York South-Weston Councillor Frances Nunziata councillor_nunziata@toronto.ca 416-392-4118
York South-Weston Councillor Frank Di Giorgio councillor_digiorgio@toronto.ca 416-392-1675
Parkdale-High Park Councillor Sarah Doucette councillor_doucette@toronto.ca 416-696-3667
Parkdale-High Park Councillor Gord Perks councillor_perks@toronto.ca 416-392-0398
Eglinton-Lawrence Councillor Josh Colle councillor_colle@toronto.ca 416-392-4191
Eglinton-Lawrence Councillor Christin Carmichael Greb Councillor_CarmichaelGreb@toronto.ca 416-392-4129
Davenport Councillor Cesar Palacio councillor_palacio@toronto.ca 416-392-0212
Davenport Councillor Ana Bailão councillor_bailao@toronto.ca 416-392-7957
Trinity-Spadina Councillor Mike Layton councillor_layton@toronto.ca 416-392-4100
Trinity-Spadina Councillor Joe Cressy Councillor_Cressy@toronto.ca 416-392-4130
St. Paul’s Councillor Joe Mihevc councillor_mihevc@toronto.ca 416-392-7466
St. Paul’s Councillor Josh Matlow councillor_matlow@toronto.ca 416-392-0124
Willowdale Councillor John Filion councillor_filion@toronto.ca 416-392-7388
Willowdale Councillor David Shiner councillor_shiner@toronto.ca 416-397-9290
Don Valley West Councillor Jaye Robinson councillor_robinson@toronto.ca 416-395-6439
Don Valley West Councillor Jon Burnside Councillor_Burnside@toronto.ca 416-392-7427
Toronto Centre-Rosedale Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam councillor_wongtam@toronto.ca 416-696-4300
Toronto Centre-Rosedale Councillor Pam McConnell councillor_mcconnell@toronto.ca 416-392-7296
Toronto-Danforth Councillor Mary Fragedakis councillor_fragedakis@toronto.ca 416-392-4123
Toronto-Danforth Councillor Paula Fletcher councillor_fletcher@toronto.ca 416-397-5200
Beaches-East York Councillor Janet Davis councillor_davis@toronto.ca 416-397-9289
Beaches-East York Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon councillor_mcmahon@toronto.ca 416-392-7444
Don Valley East Councillor Shelley Carroll councillor_carroll@toronto.ca 416-392-4101
Don Valley East Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong councillor_minnan-wong@toronto.ca 416-397-4100
Scarborough Southwest Councillor Michelle Holland councillor_berardinetti@toronto.ca 416-392-7394
Scarborough Southwest Councillor Gary Crawford councillor_crawford@toronto.ca 416-696-3658
Scarborough Centre Councillor Michael Thompson councillor_thompson@toronto.ca 416-397-9280
Scarborough Centre Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker councillor_debaeremaeker@toronto.ca 416-392-7428
Scarborough-Agincourt Councillor Jim Karygiannis councillor_karygiannis@toronto.ca 416-392-7431
Scarborough-Agincourt Councillor Norman Kelly councillor_kelly@toronto.ca 416-696-4172
Scarborough-Rouge River Councillor Chin Lee councillor_lee@toronto.ca 416-392-7433
Scarborough-Rouge River Councillor Vacant Vacant ward42@toronto.ca 416-696-4159
Scarborough East Councillor Paul Ainslie councillor_ainslie@toronto.ca 416-392-4006
Scarborough East Councillor Ron Moeser councillor_moeser@toronto.ca 416-392-7429
Share →